Skip to main content

ECON 50: Principles of Macroeconomics

Professor Gil Kim

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Research Guide!

This guide was created to help you with research in business and economics. I hope that you will find the information here useful. Check out the tabs in the right column to locate the information you need, or contact me if you don't find what you are looking for.

Hiromi Kubo
Business & Economics Librarian
hkubo@csufresno.edu
(559) 278-7036

Library Business Research Workshops - Spring 2017

Henry Madden Library presents
BUSINESS WEDNESDAYS
Library Business Research Workshops


Learn more about the most valuable resources for business and economics student researchers.
Each session includes a brief overview of the research process and tools, and ample time to do your own guided searching.

REGISTER HERE (registration is recommended)


FEBRUARY 1   
INDUSTRY & COMPANY Research  @4:00-5:00 PM, Room 2127

Find the latest information on major industries and companies
The Madden Library has some excellent databases to help you find detailed, up-to-date information and statistical data on industries and companies. Learn how to take advantage of these valuable tools.
***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ALL BUSINESS STUDENTS

FEBRUARY 8   CONSUMER Research  @10:00-11:00 AM, Room 2127

Learn ways to find demographic and psychographic information about today’s consumers
Knowing your market is critical to the success of any business. The Library’s Business Team will show you how to identify and analyze your customers.
***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ENTREPRENEURS & MARKETING MAJORS

FEBRUARY 15 & 22   STOCKTRAK/INVESTMENT Research  @12:00-1:00 PM, Room 2206

Research techniques for the wise investor
Learn how to find financial data on companies and make the right decisions on what to buy, when to buy, and when to sell!  Professor K.C. Chen, Chair of the Finance Department, presents two workshops with a focus on the StockTrak Challenge on Feb. 15; and more advanced investment analysis on Feb. 22.  
***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR STOCKTRACK CHALLENGE COMPETITORS & INVESTORS

MARCH 1  INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS Research  @2:00-3:00 PM, Room 2127

Discover the best resources to help you take your ideas around the globe
Not sure where to look up information about companies abroad, industry trends, or country profiles? The Library’s Business Team will show you essential resources and tips for successful research in international business.
***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS MAJORS

MARCH 8   ECONOMIC DATA Research  @10:00-11:00 AM, Room 2127

Up-to-date information and data on the current U.S. economy
Looking for ways to quickly find current and historical economic data, up-to-date information and essential articles? Join this workshop and learn how to find what you need from various reliable resources.
***HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ECONOMICS MAJORS

MARCH 15   LIBRARY RESEARCH CLINIC  @4:00-5:00 PM, Room 2127

Walk-in consultations with a business librarian
Drop in anytime between 4 and 5 p.m. with your assignment or research project.  Librarians with expertise in business and economics will help you make the most of library resources and tools to move your work forward.

New & Popular Titles

Henry Madden Library recently acquired the following two databases:

Mergent Intellect (database)

Mergent Intellect provides information about more than 310 million businesses globally (including 70 million in the U.S.), 90 million executives, 900 industry segments, and over 250 North American residents. Unlike many other business databases that primarily focus on public companies, Mergent Intellect focuses more on private companies. Company profiles include basic company details (e.g., address, industry, number of employees), industry details, information about key executives, and a list of companies that are affiliated.

Westlaw (database)

Westlaw contains company information from Hoover's Company Records, including company profiles for thousands of private and public U.S. corporations and SEC Filings.  It also provides access to selected business and trade publications, such as Advertising Age and Inside Business.

Gale's Business Plans Handbook series (vol. 13 to the most current vol.) are now available via Gale Virtual Reference Library.

"Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans." (Gale)

Earlier volumes are also available either online or in print:

Business Plans Handbook, vol.12 (in print)
Business Plans Handbook, vol. 1-11 (online)

Library Services

Find Library Materials

 Search books, journals, and other library materials from the main search box on the library home page or through the Library Catalog.   Write down the call number and location (e.g. Lower Level, Reference, etc.) to find the item on the shelf. 

You can also request books in the catalog and have them put on hold for you at the Circulation Desk. This service takes about 24 hours and you will receive an email when your materials are ready to pick up.

Need a Textbook? Check if your professor reserved the course materials on reserve at the Circulation Desk.

Interlibrary Loan Services

ILL Services through Link+ and ILLiad obtain materials not owned by the Madden Library from other libraries statewide, nationally, and internationally.  

Equipment Lending

Library equipments such as laptops, iPads/tablets, flip video cameras, and headphones are available for checkout.

Printing, Copying & Scanning on Campus

Pay for Print System allows Fresno State students, employees and guests to print from anywhere on-campus, even from your own computer using our wireless network. 

Assignment Research Calculator

Use the Assignment Research Calculator to help with time management, research, writing, and citing sources. It will take you step-by-step through the process of researching and writing a paper, and can even send you email reminders along the way!  

Online Library Tutorials

 Library tutorials are available in Blackboard and give an overview of library services as well as how to search the online catalog and electronic databases.

 Group/Individual Study Rooms

Reserve a study room located on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the Library.  Contact Circulation Desk at (559) 278-2551 for more information.

Need Help?  Ask!

Research assistance is available in person at the START Here Desk on the 1st floor, by phone, email, or chat during the library hours.