Citing SourcesResearch ToolsWriting Tools
Books, Journals and ArticlesNotable WebsitesPeriodicals at Arne Nixon CenterResearch Topics
ENGL 104 - Children's and Adolescent LiteratureENGL 117W - Writing from Children's LiteratureENGL 193T - Seminar on Victorian Children's LiteratureLEE 214 - Literature for Children and Adolescents (Graduate Level)
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Children's Literature  Tags: literature children children's_literature  

Tools and resources to assist research/assignments on children's literature
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.csufresno.edu/childlit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books, Journals and Articles            Print Page
  

Finding Books, Articles and Journals

  • Henry Madden Library Catalog  
      
    Start your search with materials from our own library. We have more than 1 million items that you can use for your assignments.
  • Children's Literature Databases  
      
    To find periodical or journal article citations and full-text resources online, use the database subscriptions that are provided by our library. Tip: You can search multiple databases at once, just click the ones that you want to use.
  • Link+ Catalog  
      
    If you cannot find the book you need at our library, look for them in LINK+ (read: link plus). Using LINK+, you can request the book and it will be delivered to the campus for you to pick up at the Library.
  • ILLiad  
      
    Still can't find what you need? Try the Inter-Library Loan service from our library. Looking for materials through ILLiad request takes time. So, it is recommended that you plan ahead and submit your request at least 2 weeks before you need the materials.
 

Additional Indexes, Databases and Other Resources

  • A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children’s Picture Books  
      
    Picture book titles are indexed by subject. This is helpful when assembling theme-based lesson plans. There are also illustrator and title indexes with bibliographic information.
    Holdings: Curriculum/Juvenile, Stacks, Arne Nixon Center
  • Barahona - Center for the Study of Books in Spanish for Children & Adolescents at CSU San Marcos  
      
    Search over 1,000 titles for recommended books in Spanish or recommended books about Latinos in English by using the Barahona Center’s databases. Searches can be limited to title, author, subject, grade, age and a variety of other categories.
  • Recommended Literature (K-12) Database from the California Department of Education  
      
    Search nearly 3,000 recommended titles for reading and language arts. The site also links to “Connections to Standards,” a page which relates the English-Language Arts Content Standards for California Public Schools and the recommended titles.
  • Children’s Book Review Index  
      
    Issued annually, CBRI helps provide access to thousands of reviews of children’s books. It includes separate indexes for authors, illustrators, titles, periodical names, and publishers contact information.
  • Children’s Picture Book Database at Miami University  
      
    Highly useful for constructing thematic lesson plans, this database contains over 5,000 picture book titles geared to children from preschool to third grade. Search result will provide titles and summaries.
  • Database of Award Winning Children’s Literature  
      
    DAWCL has over 7,000 search-able records from 79 children literature awards across six English-speaking countries (United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland).
  • Something About the Author  
      
    More encyclopedia than index, this series of reference books offers plenty of pertinent information about hundreds of children’s authors.
    Holdings: Curriculum/Juvenile, Arne Nixon Center
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait