This is the "Announcements" page of the "Announcements" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Announcements  

Library news, exhibits, workshops, and events
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.csufresno.edu/librarynews Print Guide

Announcements Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Rollin Pickford Exhibitions

Rollin Pickford Exhibitions Open October 18 in the Library

“Rollin Pickford: An Artist and His Collectors,” will be on view from October 18, 2014, through January 16, 2015. Leon S. Peters Ellipse Gallery, 2nd floor, North Wing:

An accompanying exhibition, “From the Rollin Pickford Collection in the Henry Madden Library,” also will be on display the same dates as the Rollin Pickford” exhibition. Pete P. Peters Gallery, 3rd floor, North Wing (immediately above the Ellipse Gallery).

These are free exhibitions open to the public. Gallery hours are Monday-Friday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Saturday 1 to 5 p.m.; and Sunday 2 to 5 p.m.

The Library (and its galleries) will be closed on Tuesday, Nov. 11 (Veterans' Day), and Thursday--Saturday, Nov. 27--29 (Thanksgiving holiday).

The Library's hours of opening are found here: http://libguides.csufresno.edu/library_hours

 

Author Joanne Rocklin on October 24

Author Joanne Rocklin to be Guest Speaker at ANCA Meeting

Sponsored by the Library's Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children's Literature
October 24 (Friday)

“Almost Everything I Know about Writing Children’s Books I’ve Learned from my Cats!”

Join us when award-winning author Joanne Rocklin, Ph.D., talks about writing children’s books. Rocklin has written over 20 books for children in several genres and has received numerous awards and honors.

ANCA, the Arne Nixon Center Advocates, will conduct a brief administrative meeting during the first few minutes of the program. Rocklin’s books will be available for sale and autographing after the presentation.

NOTE: Free of charge and open to the public, but seating is limited.

Friday, Octber 24, 2014

Henry Madden Library Room 2206 (2nd floor, South Wing)

6:00 Reception

7:00 Author's talk

Reservations are required by October 22.

RSVP to 559.278.8116 or email jsanford@csufresno.edu or submit online at http://pawsforms.csufresno.edu/rsvp/reply (enter code rocklin2014).

Parking in Lots P30 and P31 (closest to the Library) is unrestricted.Campus maps are available at www.csufresno.edu/ucomm/maps/

 

KNOW HOW Business Workshops

Business Wednesday Workshops

Learn more about the most valuable resources for business and economics student researchers. Each session includes a brief overview of the research process and tools, and ample time to do your own guided searching. All students, faculty, and staff are welcome to come!
 
HENRY MADDEN LIBRARY — ROOM 2127
Remaining research workshops will be held on the following Wednesdays:

10/8 @ 4 p.m. INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS   
Resources to help you market ideas globally

10/29 @ 5 p.m. CONSUMERS   
Demographic and psychographic info about today’s consumers

11/5 @ 4 p.m. ECONOMICS   
Up-to-date information and data on the current U.S. economy

11/19 @ 5 p.m. APA CITATION   
For business and economics research

Register today: http://libguides.csufresno.edu/business

All students, faculty, and staff are welcome to attend!

 

The Library's 5th Anniversary

The Henry Madden Library’s 5th Anniversary

Five years ago, on February 20, 2009, the “new” Henry Madden Library opened for business — with no permanent furniture. In the largest economic downturn since the Great Depression, state expenditures had been frozen. We had a grand new building, but no furniture, so the Library opened with borrowed folding tables and chairs. Over time furniture arrived, and thanks to the $10 million donation from Table Mountain Rancheria, we were able to purchase custom finishing on much of that furniture. With a basket motif and other Native American designs, the Library was transformed.

A wide range of amenities was designed to meet the varying needs of library users: individual and group study rooms; classrooms for library instruction; meeting rooms; large event rooms; tables with power for plugging in laptops; and service desks on every floor.

The Library has become a major venue for exhibitions and events, bringing many people to Fresno State who might not have visited otherwise to view Indian basketry and original Ansel Adams photographs; samurai armor; carousel horses; Little Golden Books; Alice in Wonderland; and Valley Firsts.

Based on previous gate counts (traffic into the building), we anticipate over 1.4 million people will have used the Library during the course of the 2013/2014 academic year — not bad for being only five years old.

Events over the past 5 years are highlighted here: https://sites.google.com/site/henrymaddenlibrary5th/home

 

Book a Study Room in ADVANCE

Book a Study Room in Advance!

NOTE: Booking must be made and confirmed before use.

The pdf that is linked below contains a QR code that can be scanned to get you to the booking page.

You can also start from the Library's home page: click on SERVICES at the top, then on “Book a Study Room.”


Follow these easy steps:
1. Click on the type of room you want.
2. Click a date in the calendar.
3. Click on 1 to 4 half-hour blocks (green boxes = available).
4. Read the conditions, then click “Continue.”
5. Enter the required information and click on “Submit my Booking.”
6. A confirmation is sent to your email. Save a print or electronic copy of the confirmation as proof of your reservation.

Need help with booking a study space? Ask at the Circulation Desk.

http://fresnostate.edu/library/docs/room_booking_howto.pdf

 

World's Fairs Archive to be Digitized

Major World’s Fairs Archive to be Digitized

Adam Matthew, a digital publisher of unique primary source collections, has announced a new project to digitize one of the largest World’s Fairs collections in the world: the Donald G. Larson Collection of International Expositions and Fairs housed in the Henry Madden Library.

We are thrilled to be partnering with Adam Matthew on their forthcoming world’s fair digital collection. It’s an honor to have our collection selected as the foundation for this new collaborative project,” commented Tammy Lau, Head of Special Collections in the Madden Library.

World’s fairs and exhibitions were the home of innovation and invention, gathering together international communities and cultures for over 160 years. The fairs had a huge impact on the host city and on the millions of people who visited.

Donald G. Larson, founder of the core collection for Adam Matthew’s new project, was so moved by his experience of visiting the Golden Gate International Exposition in 1940 that he has collected world’s fairs material ever since. His collection is an extensive and varied agglomeration of documents, pamphlets, photographs, and memorabilia which cover a huge number of fairs from 1851 on, even including fairs that were planned but never held. He donated the collection to Fresno State in 1972.

 

Fresno State yearbooks & newspapers online

Fresno State Yearbooks and Newspaper Archive now Online

Fresno State yearbooks from 1911 to 1991 and the student newspaper, The Collegian, are now online as part of the Madden Library's digitized collections. 

Yearbooks: Creating a yearbook was a time-honored tradition for Fresno State students from 1911 to 1991 (with a gap from 1972-75). After 1970, the yearbooks became much smaller, only including the graduating class of seniors, and by 1992 they ceased to exist. However, this collection of Fresno State yearbooks stands as a treasure trove of photographs, information, and memories. See http://cdmweb.lib.csufresno.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/yrbk. A set of yearbooks is in the Library's main stacks (available for check out) and another is in the University Archives in the Special Collections Research Center on the Library's 4th floor, South Wing (for in-house use). 

Newspapers: The Collegian is the student-run newspaper committed to complete, fair, and accurate journalism. It operates as a laboratory classroom and a training ground for students interested in journalism.

The Madden Library houses the complete collection of The Collegian on microfilm going back to 1922. The Library has digitized the entire microfilm collection from 1922-1998, now available online at http://cdmweb.lib.csufresno.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/collegia

 

Relocation of Japanese Americans During WWII

Relocation of Japanese Americans During World War II
 

The Madden Library's Special Collections Research Center has an online exhibit in commemoration of the 72nd anniversary of Executive Order 9066 signed by President Roosevelt on February 19, 1942. The Order authorized the forced relocation of mostly Japanese Americans on the West Coast during World War II to assembly centers and then, later, to internment camps throughout the United States.

 

Special Collections Book Arts exhibit

The Art of the Book
 

The Madden Library’s Special Collections Research Center is pleased to announce its latest exhibit, “The Book Arts, or The Art of the Book, Being a Sampling from the Middle Ages through the Present.” The exhibit is an exploration of the ways in which books have been constructed over the centuries and the component parts and concepts that are important in book making. It also showcases books as art in and of themselves, apart from their content. A companion piece of the exhibit is the oldest book in the Madden Library, printed in 1474.

The exhibit may be viewed in the Woodward Family Special Collections Reading Room on the 4th floor of the South Wing of the Library, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Photo caption: This book, De humani coporis fabrica (printed in 1568), was donated by Dr. Roger Larson (1924--2013), a well-known Fresno physician, educator, and humanist. The book is an important part of medical and scientific history and has a place of pride in the current exhibit.

 
 

Future Events

Two free exhibitions, “Rollin Pickford: An Artist and His Collectors,” and "From the Rollin Pickford Collection in the Henry Madden Library" will be on view October 18, 2014 through January 16, 2015.